2019 KCM Awards

An extra congratulations to those students who earned the following awards from categories we accidentally skipped over during awards.

Posted in Posts | Leave a comment

The 2019 contest is coming soon!

Hello advisers:

The 2019 contest will open for entries Feb. 1, 2019. They will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 17.

We are using a new provider this year. Advisers will have one account per publication. Only paid members of Kansas Collegiate Media are eligible to submit entries. Advisers can check dues status with treasurer Stacy Sparks.

More information will be shared throughout this week.


Regina Cassell, 785-670-1801
Washburn University

Posted in Posts | Leave a comment

Statement from Kansas Collegiate Media

Corbin Crable was removed from the office of treasurer of Kansas Collegiate Media on July 12, 2018.

Since taking over the duties of treasurer in September, 2014, Crable spent $21,000 of KCM funds for personal use. Officials at Crable’s former employer, Johnson County Community College, became aware of the situation during the week of July 9 and notified the executive board of KCM of their discovery.

The organization’s officers as well as the former treasurer and past presidents assisted Stacy Sparks, KCM president, with the research of financial records prior to Crable’s term as treasurer.

Crable has made restitution for the funds.

Crable was the third individual to serve the organization as treasurer since 1996. KCM has never experienced this type of breach of trust. Obviously, more scrutiny will be required for the position of treasurer.

Copies of the actual bank statements will be shared with the other officers on a monthly basis and additional oversight will be established.

Sparks will serve as treasurer until new officers are elected and installed in April 2019.

The members of Kansas Collegiate Media advise student magazines, newspapers, online news sites, radio and television stations and yearbooks at colleges in the state. Our group of volunteers coordinate contests and arrange for judges to review and recognize exceptional work in student media.

We plan an annual conference for our student members with sessions about telling compelling, important stories – through writing, images and design – in print, video, audio and through online platforms.

The adviser members of KCM sponsor the Jackie Engel award to recognize an outstanding Kansas high school journalism adviser each year.

KCM was founded in 1967 as The Kansas Association of Two-Year College Mass Media Advisers. In 1979, the organization became the Kansas Association of Journalism Advisers and in April 1988, the name was changed to Kansas Associated Collegiate Press. In 2011, the name was changed to Kansas Collegiate Media.

Our work is focused on students. We will continue to focus our efforts on providing opportunities for students to prepare for careers in media.

Stacy Sparks, President, Kansas Collegiate Media
Associate professor of journalism, Southwestern College

Posted in Posts | Leave a comment


We are super proud of all of our students. Here is the list of the winners for all divisions.

2018 Winners

Posted in Posts | Leave a comment

Schedule for KCM conference

2018 KCM Program-1

Posted in Posts | Leave a comment

Contest Summaries

Hi Fellow Advisers,

What a DAY! Note to self: Do not wait until the LAST MINUTE to FIND your KCM entries. It makes for a rather un-fun kind of day.

OK, please review this carefully IF you submitted entries. I sent personal emails to a few of you requesting additional items.


  1. If you did not send me an entry audit, please note the attached file.


These are the schools I HAVE entry audits from, but a few of these do need to email me PDFs or URLs (see No. 2). I sent individual messages to those advisers.

Butler (all),

Emporia newspaper,

Hutchinson (all),


Kansas State (YB),

Pittsburg (all),

Seward (all),

Southwestern (all),

University of Kansas (newspaper)

Washburn University (all)

Wichita State University (newspaper)


  1. If you are submitting OVERALL categories for newspaper or magazine, I did need to change that process.


The online system did not work as I had hoped/envisioned for the overall entries. If your school does not publish the pdfs of your magazine and newspaper online somewhere, then I need those PDFs emailed to me. If I download them from the site, it converts them to jpg files, which is not good for the newspaper entries. Smarter Entry is not set up to handle the input the overall category needs, so I have that set up digitally through Google. I apologize about the extra step.


If you DO have them online, then I just need the links. For example, Washburn publishes both of our magazines and newspaper PDFs online for free through issuu.com.


Again, I am sorry for the additional step. I have about six other schools I will need this from, so I think an extension through the weekend is appropriate.



Posted in Posts | Leave a comment

KCM’s new Paypal account

Greetings, everyone!

Great news — You now can pay your membership balance and conference registration online! Kansas Collegiate Media now has a Paypal account: kansascollegiatemedia@gmail.com. ​Though I know many of you have said your institution is unable to make online credit card/p-card payments and must instead pay via check, I hope this will make life just a little easier for the rest of you.

When making a payment for your institution, please make mention of what the payment is for in the ‘note’ section on Paypal.

Unless you’ve contacted Regina or me, you will still need to make your contest entry payment on SmarterEntry.com itself.

As always, let me know if you have any questions as we continue our march forward into the digital world.

Posted in Posts | Leave a comment